Shanghai Cooperation Organization was established in April 1996 in order to strengthen military confidence in borders. This organization initially had five members including Russia, China, Kazakstan. Tajikstan and Kyrgyzstan and it was called Shamghai-5 Treaty. In 2001, Uzbekistan and Mongolia joined this organization and its named changed into Shanghai Cooperation organization (CSO). Relationship between Iran and this organization has become a subject of discussion among domestic and international circles, especially after that Iran's observer membership in the SCO was approved by its member countries. This article tries to explain the importance of the SCO and the negative and positive aspects of Iran's observer membership in it.

Source: Diplomatic Hamshahri, No 3, June 2006

Full Text is in Farsi